Two Ghanaians Place in The Finalists of The CNN MULTICHOICE AFRICAN JOURNALIST 2015 Competition.

Two Ghanaians Place in The Finalists of The CNN MULTICHOICE AFRICAN JOURNALIST 2015 Competition.


The finalists in the ever prestigious CNN MultiChoice African Journalist 2015 have been announced!


Ferial Haffajee, Chair of the independent judging panel made this announcement earlier this morning. In its 20th year, the competition has highlighted the brilliant works of African journalists in various categories ranging from print to radio.  

And this year two Ghanaian journalists have made it to the finalists stage!

They are Fiifi Essilfie Anaman, a sports writer and freelancer for,  and Thomas Naadi Bitlegma of Viasat1 TV station.

Congratulations to both of them and good luck! Its great to see Ghanaian journalists being noticed for their exemplary work in journalism in Africa. 

 Another Ghanaian journalist who made it to the finalist stage in 2012 and won the prestigious award  was Anny Osabutey . He was awarded for Best African Journalist in the Radio General News category. Other Ghanaians who have won in various categories over the years are Yasmin O Bedwei-Majdoub (1995) and Daniel Mensah Brande (1998), Manfred Mensah (2001), Loretta Vanderpuye (2002) Israel Laryea (2008) Anas Aremeyaw Anas (Runner-Up 2009) Kofi Akpabli (2010 & 2011) Portia Solomon (Highly Commended 2011) Gifty Andoh Appiah (2013) Rebekah Adwoa Awuah  (Highly Commended 2013)


This year the competition received entries from 39 countries across the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking Africa.


There are 31 finalists from 15 countries. This is the complete lists of the finalists:

 Fiifi Essilfie Anaman, Freelance for Ghana.

Thomas Naadi Bitlegma, Viasat1, Ghana

Benedicta Asiimwe, Freelance for Daily Monitor, Uganda

Femi Asu, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Domingos Bento,, Angola

Sheriff Bojang Jnr, Freelance for West Africa Democracy Radio, Senegal

Ruth Butaumocho, The Herald, Zimbabwe

Ibrahima Diallo, Radiodiffusion Télévision Sénégalaise (RTS), Senegal

Adewale Olugbenga Emosu,, Nigeria

Chahinaz Samir Gheith, Freelance for Al-Ahram Hebdo, Egypt

Carla Gonçalves, A Nação, Cape Verde

Boldwill Hungwe, Zimbabwe Independent, Zimbabwe

Ibanga Isine, Premium Times Newspaper, Nigeria

Paul Kelemba, Freelance for The Standard on Saturday, Kenya

Deo Gratias Tchédé Kindoho, Radio Bénin, Benin

Julie Laurenz & Jacqueline Jayamaha, Freelance for, South Africa

Petride Mudoola, Freelance for Sunday Vision, Uganda

Abubakari Akida Mussa, Mtanzania Newspaper, Tanzania

Pedro Paxi Pereira Ndoma, TV Zimbo, Angola

George Oduor Otieno, Baraka FM, Kenya

Hyacinthe Boowurosigue Sanou, L'Observateur Paalga, Burkina Faso

Enock Sikolia & Charles Kariuki, NTV, Kenya

Arison Tamfu, Cameroon Journal, Cameroon

Kọ́lá Túbọ̀sún, Blogger at, Nigeria

Arukaino Umukoro, Punch Newspaper, Nigeria

Bento Venâncio, Jornal Domingo, Mozambique

Herman Verwey, Beeld, South Africa

Kiundu Waweru, The Standard on Saturday, Kenya

Sarah Wild, Mail & Guardian, South Africa



The finalists will enjoy an all-expense paid four day programme of workshops, media forums and networking in Nairobi, Kenya, culminating in a Gala Award Ceremony in October 2015. In addition, winners from previous years will join this year’s finalists for a special evening to celebrate 20 years of the awards. 




Keep up-to-date with the awards at: and via social media on:!/CNNMultichoiceAfricanJournalistOfTheYearAwards




Add to Flipboard Magazine.

The Little Habits That Help You Save.

The Little Habits That Help You Save.

Discover Mauritius - The People, The Food & More

Discover Mauritius - The People, The Food & More